Formula Renault 3.5 teams announced for 2012

Yesterday, Renault Sport announced the thirteen teams accepted to run in the 2012 season of its flagship Formula Renault 3.5 series. Apart from Mofaz Racing, all the 2011 teams submitted an entry, as did six other teams: Arden, Atech Reid, DAMS, Korainen, Max Travin and Van Amersfoort.
Despite participating in this year’s edition of the series, EPIC racing were not selected to continue. Instead, GP2 teams Arden and DAMS were chosen. Arden are a British team with a strong Red Bull connection. As Red Bull prefer Formula Renault to GP2, I suspect we will be seeing more of their drivers in the Arden team in future. French team DAMS were lucky enough to have Romain Grosjean in their lineup this year as he took his GP2 championship.

The GP2 teams are in action in Barcelona tomorrow and Thursday for testing. Tomorrow, GP3 drivers Brendon Hartley, Nigel Melker, Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, Rio Haryanto, Tom Dillmann and Antonio Felix da Costa will be taking part, along with Formula Renault 3.5 drivers Nathanael Berthon, Jake Rosenzweig and Alex Rossi, British F3’s Kevin Magnussen, Superleague Formula’s Craig Dolby, and a number of others.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s