December 16th 2012

Countdown to 2013 Formula One season: 89 days

Much as expected, Team Germany won the Race of Champions Nations Cup. They battled Team France – current Champion of Champions Sebastian Ogier, and Lotus’s Romain Grosjean – in the final, and won every race on their way to the win.

The RoC continues with the race-off to discover the champion of champions for 2012. Will F1 get its second champion (first as a driver competing in F1 at the time of the RoC)?

Stat of the Day:
Only one driver from the UK has won the RoC – Colin McRae. The rally driver won the 1998 championship. Back then, only rally drivers took part. Despite the proliferation of drivers from other series, rally drivers still dominate in the current era. Italy (Andrea Aghini, 1992), Spain (Carlos Sainz, 1997) and Portugal (Felipe Albuquerque, 2010) are the other countries to have only had 1 champion of champions.
Sweden (5), Finland (6) and France (9) are the other three countries to have champion of champions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s