January 7th 2013

Countdown to 2013 Formula One season: 67 days

Mercedes’ new signing, 2008 world champion Lewis Hamilton, celebrates his 28th birthday today!

Stephane Peterhansel has taken over the lead of the car category at Dakar. Day one leader Carlos Sainz is down in 11th after a tough second day. Peterhansel won the 2012 Dakar rally, and has also won it in previous years, in the car and the motorcycle categories when it was held in Europe.
Gerard de Rooy continues to lead the trucks. Bikes are now led by Joan Barreda Bort of Spain. Quads are led by Marcos Patronelli of Argentina.

Dakar day three.

Stat of the Day:
Stephane Peterhansel is one of the most successful Dakar Rally participants of all time. Aged 48, he first competed at Dakar in 1988, aged 23, while competing in the motorcycle category. He took his first victory in 1991, and repeated this feat in 1992, 1993, 1995, 1997 and 1998. After ’98, he moved categories and began to participate with cars instead of bikes. He finished seventh in his first year, 1999, and second the following year. In 2001, he won the T1 car category, and in 2003 he came third in the T1 category. In 2004, he won overall, and also in 2005, 2007 and 2012. That is 11 Dakar victories so far.
Nobody has matched Peterhansel’s Dakar record, which he looks set to extend this year having yesterday taken the lead of the competition. But anything can happen over the next two weeks.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s