30th March 2013

Giacomo Ricci is 28 today.
Eddie Jordan is 65 today.

On This Day:
Carlos Reutemann won the 1974 South African GP for Brabham after polesitter Niki Lauda retired with technical problems.
In 1980, Nelson Piquet won the 1980 US GP West for Brabham, his first F1 win on only his fourth points finish.
And in 1997, that year’s world champion Jaques Villeneuve had pole and win in Brazil.

Tonio Liuzzi will be driving for Romeo Ferraris Mercedes in the 2013 Superstars season.
Robert Kubica is preparing for his WRC debut next month, with help from Sebastian Loeb.

BTCC and Formula Ford at Brands Hatch, as well as other series.


29th March 2013

Happy birthday to Marc Gene, Ferrari test driver.

On This Day:
Argentinian Carlos Reutemann won the 1981 Brazilian GP by ignoring team orders. Teammate Alan Jones finished second, and refused to go on the podium. Nelson Piquet had pole but finished 12th, two laps down.
Things were a little simpler in 1998, when Mika Hakkinen took pole and win for McLaren at Interlagos. Teammate David Coulthard was second, and they finished a minute ahead of Michael Schumacher and Alex Wurz – the only other drivers on the lead lap.
There was a new team on the grid for the 2009 Australian GP. Ross Brawn had bought Honda, and gave them Mercedes engines and a white livery. Brawn GP shocked everyone by taking pole position thanks to Jenson Button, and the British driver also took the win. It was the first time since Mercedes in 1954 that a constructor had won on their debut, and the second race to finish under safety car conditions after Kubica and Vettel collided. This allowed Barrichello to finish second.

Force India will continue to use Mercedes power units and transmissions for the next few years after signing a deal with the German company.
Michelin are set to supply tyres to Formula E when the series begins.
Sebastian Vettel has apologised to Red Bull for disobeying team orders.
Seb Morris has changed from Formula Renault to BRDC F4 for the 2013 season, driving with Hillspeed – for whom he won the 2011 Ginetta Juniors championship with. The championship has attracted drivers from all over the world. The first round of the championship will be at the end of April.

Stat of the Day:
Nobody has ever beaten Fernando Alonso in qualifying five times in a row, but Felipe Massa could manage that in China, having beaten Alonso in the USA, Brazil, Australia and Malaysia. (via BBC)

28th March 2013

On This Day:
Clay Regazzoni had pole and win at the 1976 US GP West.
Alain Prost’s Williams was on pole in Brazil, but local hero Ayrton Senna in his McLaren won. It was his last home race victory.
Sebastian Vettel had pole at the 2010 Australian GP, but McLaren new boy Jenson Button took the win.

Claire Williams has been appointed deputy Team Principal at Williams.

27th March 2013

Happy birthday David Coulthard!

On This Day:
The 1983 US GP West took place. Patrick Tambay had pole, but John Watson won.
The 1994 Brazilian GP was also today. Senna had pole but retired from the race due to issues with the Williams. Schumacher won. It was the debut race for Roland Ratzenberger, Heinz-Harald Frentzen and Olivier Panis.
Finally the 2011 Australian GP was dominated by Sebastian Vettel in the first race of Pirelli’s return to F1. Pastor Maldonado, Paul di Resta and Sergio Perez all had their debuts, with Perez finishing in the points. Sauber were disqualified after the race for a technical infringement, giving di Resta points on his debut instead.

26th March 2013

Racing driver Didier Pironi, teammate and rival of Gilles Villeneuve, would have been 61 today.
Elio de Angelis would have been 55 today.
Martin Donnelly is 49 today.

On This Day:
In 1989, F1 was racing at Rio. The Brazilian GP hasn’t taken place there since. Local Senna was on pole, but British superstar Nigel Mansell won for Ferrari.
The 1995 Brazilian GP was at Interlagos, and Damon Hill was on pole. Michael Schumacher won for Bennetton.
And in 2000, F1 was again in Brazil. This time Mika Hakkinen had pole, but Schumacher again won – this time at Ferrari.

We are still waiting to find out just what will happen after yesterday’s dramatic Malaysian GP. Who will suffer from the team orders debacle at Red Bull and Mercedes?

Eurocup testing in Austria.

25th March 2013

On This Day:
Alain Prost won two races on March 25th. In 1984, he won the Brazilian GP. It was the debut race for two drivers: Ayrton Senna, future rival to Prost, and Martin Brundle. Though Brundle scored points on his debut, Tyrrell were eventually disqualified from the whole season. Brundle went on to become an F1 commentator.
In 1990, F1 was once again in Brazil, and local boy Senna was on pole in the second race of the season. Ferrari driver Prost won, while Senna was also beaten by his teammate Gerhard Berger and finished third.
In 2012, two more former McLaren rivals were challenging the field. Lewis Hamilton had pole, but once again his ex-teammate Alonso won for Ferrari while Hamilton was third. In P2 was Sauber’s Sergio Perez, taking Sauber’s best-ever result outside of the BMW era and his first podium.

Well. What a weekend. Let’s have a look at the race results from yesterday:
Sebastian Vettel won the Malaysian GP after ignoring team orders and overtaking Webber. Nico Rosberg obeyed team orders, however, so Lewis Hamilton came third. Force India had serious pit issues, while Fernando Alonso broke his wing on lap one and was forced to retire.
In IndyCar, James Hinchliffe won the opening race of the season. Simona de Silvestro finished sixth.
FIA Formula Three and Auto GP took place at a very wet Monza. Pascal Wehrlein won race two, while Raffaele Marciello won race three. The two drivers had some very close battles along with Lucas Auer over the weekend.
Japanese driver Kimya Sato won race two of Auto GP, with Luciano Bacheta twenty seconds behind in second.

24th March 2013

Happy birthday McLaren test driver Gary Paffett!

On This Day:
Ayrton Senna had pole and win at his home race in 1991.

Sebastian Vettel took pole at Sepang despite almost dropping out of qualifying in Q1 due to an error by Red Bull. Felipe Massa qualified an impressive second ahead of his teammate in third. Kimi Raikkonen qualified 7th, but was judged to have blocked Nico Rosberg and received a 3-place grid penalty.
The first Euro F3 race at Monza was won by Raffaele Marciello, with Lucas Auer second and Pascal Wehrlein third.
Sergio Campana won the opening Auto GP race, with Kimiya Sato second and Robert Visoiu third after Vittorio Ghirelli received a two second penalty for corner cutting. Ex-F1 driver Narain Karthikeyan finished fifth.
Sadly Robert Kubica has had to end his first ERC weekend after his car was irrepairably damaged. He had been dominating the weekend, leading by over a minuted from Jan Kopecky.
Will Power has pole position at the opening IndyCar weekend. Takuma Sato qualified second, with Simona de Silvestro an imoressive third.

F1 and GP2 in Malaysia.
Auto GP and Euro F3 at Monza.
IndyCar at St Petersburg.